In the early 90s, USM with the effort from the School of Medical Sciences (PPSP) had begun the planning of School of Dental Sciences (PPSG) to complement the existing Hospital University (HUSM). Specifically for this purpose, a group of pioneer staff was trained since 1993.The establishment of PPSG was approved by the University Directorial Board on October 1998. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ab. Rani Samsudin was appointed as the first Dean on 1st November 1998.

In early 2000, initial works on the development of PPSG new building took place. On September 2001, almost 95% of the building was completed and began to house all the PPSG staff.The building is now completed and the cost for its
Initially offered as a 4-year programme of Bachelor of Dental Surgery in May 1972. The first batch comprised of 32 students and this was the first dental school in Malaysia. The initial batch shared physical facilities at the Faculty of Medicine in the earlier years. In November 1973, the then Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Hussein Onn,
They registered on 22nd May and teaching and learning session began on 26th May 1997. The intake of students was increased to 48 in 1998, and to 96 in 2001.However, the intake for 2004/2005 academic session was reduced to 65 students.

clinical dental practice on patients in the new building located at the south wing of the University Hospital (currently the UM Medical Center).The dedicated Faculty of Dentistry building was officially opened by the then Prime Minister of Malaysia, Tun Hj Abdul Razak bin Datuk Hussein on 19 May 1975.

The Faculty has the necessary up to date and high end equipments and facilities to be utilized. The faculty obtains an annual allocation from the government for its operating expenditure.
Asian Institute of Medical,Science and Technology (AIMST)
Website designed by 2nd year Dental Student,
School of Dental Science (PPSG),
Universiti Sains Malaysia
Copyright reserved ©
"We live in a moment of history where change is so speeded up that we begin to see the present only when it is already disappearing."-R.D Laing

History Of Dental Schools In Malaysia

There are six dental schools in our country which are started by UM,USM and UKM dental school, followed by UIAM,UiTM and AIMST dental school.
University Sains Malaysia (USM)







The new school is located in USM, Kelantan Branch (now known as Health Campus), situated on 72.84 hectares of flatland in the suburbs of Kota Bharu.
Degree offered in PPSG is Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S) and the first intake of 40 students was initiated in May 1999. Currently, there are eight batches of students (from Year 1 to Year 5). The first batch (Year 5) was graduated in August 2004.





development is estimated at RM 12.5 million (around USD 3.3 million).
On a historic day of 22 March 2003, our building was officially inaugurated by the then Education Minister, Tan Sri Musa bin Mohamad.
The graduation of its first batch on 4th August 2004 would surely change the current scenario in fulfilling the needs and aspiration of Malaysian society towards achieving better dental care.


University Malaya (UM)







laid the OfficialFoundation Stone and by July 1974, students began their






University Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)

The Faculty of Dentistry, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia UKM) was established on 26 June 1996. The faculty is offering a Degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS) and first academic session was started in 1997/1998 with an initial intake of 24 students.




The duration of the course is five years and teaching is conducted by both dental and medical faculties’ staff. Faculty of dentistry is made up of eight departments. There is an ongoing academic staff training to achieve appropriate academic staff student ratio.





Universiti Islam Antarabangsa Malaysia (UIAM)

-under construction-

Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM)


-under construction-



-under construction-